top of page
Partecipating Institutions
Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

With over 700 years of history, over 113,000 students, 3,300 teachers and 2,000 employees, technicians and librarians, in addition to 1,800 administrative staff in university hospitals, Sapienza is the first university in Europe. Its mission is to contribute to the development of a knowledge society through research, excellence, quality education and international cooperation. In this context, five Nobel Prize winners and a large number of internationally renowned scientists have taught and/or studied at Sapienza. 

Scientific research activity at Sapienza covers an extremely broad spectrum of disciplines, reaching levels of excellence in many areas, including archaeology, physics and astrophysics, humanities and cultural heritage, the environment, nanotechnologies, cell and gene therapy, design, aerospace, social and economic sciences. 

The Department of Medico-surgical Sciences and Biotechnologies (DMSSB) aggregates academics of the Faculty of Pharmacy and Medicine performing their research activity in scientific areas related to diagnostics, medicine, surgery and medical physics. By virtue of the integration of existing research programs in basic and applied sciences with care activity in Health Departments of Latina and Policlinico Umberto I of Rome, academics of DMSSB pursue several lines of research ranging from applied biomedical sciences to surgical sciences. The role of DMSSB is strongly linked to its experience in the field of biotechnologies and advanced medicine. Moreover, in the past two years DMSSB has established an innovative center for Bio-Photonics working at the crossroads between physics, biotechnology and high precision medicine. 

Jeonbuk National University,
Republic of Korea

Jeonbuk National University (JBNU) is located in the historical city of Jeonju, Republic of Korea. As the flagship national university for the Jeollabuk-do Province, it was founded in 1947 by the provincial fund within the framework of the Korean national university system, following the liberation of the country.

JBNU is a research-focused educational institution based on materials science, which consist of IT, nano-technology, bio-technology, and environment technology, and maintains a close relationship with various universities to perform interdisciplinary collaborative research. 

The Department of Polymer-Nano Science & Technology has various facilities driven by the resident expertise for strong interactions with the polymer industry and other centers of polymer research. These facilities are engaged in activities ranging from the development of advanced materials and characterization of their materials properties, through methods for their processing, to device prototype development.

grafica nato.jpg
bottom of page